Functions of the Montreal Metropolitan Commission, established in 1921 to assist municipalities of greater Montreal which had experienced some degree of financial difficulty, were transferred at the end of 1959 to the Montreal Metropolitan Corporation; it is intended that, eventually, the Corporation will take on more of the functions of an over-all metropolitan administration.

The County of Laval was replaced in March 1959 by the Interurban Corporation of Île Jésus in order to facilitate solution of inter-municipal problems on the island.

Ontario.—Slightly more than one-tenth of the area of Ontario is municipally organized and the remainder is governed entirely by the provincial government. The older settled section of the province is divided into 43 counties, five of which are united with others for administrative purposes. Each county, although it is an incorporated municipality, is comprised of the towns, villages and townships situated within its borders, and these provide its revenue. The Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto encompasses one city, four towns, three villages and five townships. There are 30 cities, 157 towns, 154 villages, 573 townships and 24 improvement districts in the province. Some of each are located in the northern districts which are not organized into counties. Supervisory control of municipalities is exercised by the Department of Municipal Affairs and the Ontario Municipal Board under the Municipal Act and other Acts governing aspects of municipal government.

Manitoba.—Manitoba has six cities, which derive their powers from special Acts and do not come under the supervision of the Department of Municipal Affairs. The Department supervises the 35 towns, 37 villages and 112 rural municipalities under the Municipal Act. There are local government districts in settled areas not within rural municipalities.

Saskatchewan.—All municipalities in Saskatchewan derive their powers from general Acts that are designated with the name of the type of municipality. There are 10 cities, 104 towns, 371 villages and 296 rural municipalities. The area so organized consists of most of the southern two-fifths of the province—the remainder of this portion is administered for local purposes by the province in unincorporated local improvement districts. The northern three-fifths is sparsely populated and without local government, though some municipal services are provided by the province through operation of the Northern Administrative Area. Municipalities are supervised by the Department of Municipal Affairs.

Alberta.—The province has an Act applying to each type of municipality, and under these Acts the Department of Municipal Affairs supervises the nine cities, 86 towns, 156 villages, 38 municipal districts and 12 counties. The latter administer schools as well as municipal services.

British Columbia.—Less than one-half of 1 p.c. of the area of British Columbia is organized into municipalities. Additional small areas have sufficient population to require administration of local activities by the provincial government. There are 32 cities, three towns, 60 villages, and 30 districts; the latter are chiefly rural municipalities, except for those adjacent to the principal cities of Victoria and Vancouver which are largely urban in character. It should be emphasized, however, that the application of the name "city" is somewhat different from the commonly accepted meaning, in that several of them have populations of fewer than 1,000 and perhaps one-half or more would not normally be incorporated as cities in another province. Legislation of 1957 provided